Heartless (Will Rip Your Heart Out, Literally)

If it isn’t obvious from my fun facts post I’m kind of a huge fan of Alice In Wonderland. [Even My Sweet Sixteen was a murder mystery birthday party- in Wonderland.] Because of this, as a general rule I no longer read Alice In Wonderland retellings… none of the ones I’ve previously read were very good.

Enter Heartless by my all-time favorite author. I told myself that Marissa Meyer’s retelling [or rather, the backstory of the Queen of Hearts] had to be good. It had to be. And oh my, it was so good. So, so good. Like, rose macaroon level good!

tumblr_n19ak2pxjl1s7cqmno7_500

(SORRY. I am so hungry I just couldn’t help it.)

I think the reason Meyer is such a good writer is simply because her characters are so likeable and so real. Cath, the main character of Heartless, was not a perfect person- she had her flaws. But, ultimately it’s a character’s flaws that make them so utterly human. I was rooting for Cath from page one. Every character is unique and wonderfully quirky in their own Wonderlandian way.

“Stuff and nonsense. Nonsense and stuff and much of a muchness and nonsense all over again. We are all mad here, don’t you know?”

Also, the kingdom of Hearts was so beautifully mad. Meyer painted every scene beautifully, and I could picture everything; from Hatta’s shop to the castle gardens to the ridiculous red dress that Catherine is forced to wear. Although Hearts seemed normal on the surface,
some of the character’s actions were subtly crazy. The setting was very Victorian
-esque, from the fashion styles to the society’s tendency to suppress their women [*eye roll*].

And Jest, oh goodness. This charming, sly joker will edge his way into your heart. There was something so fascinating about his character- I can’t put my finger on it, but just know that you’re sure to fall in love with him!

Now mine eyes see the heart that once we did search for, and I fear this heart shall be mended, nevermore.

18584855
Honestly, my biggest disappointment was that this did not compare to the Lunar Chronicles. Like, not at all. It was nowhere near as good. If you dive into this book expecting Lunar Chronicle level writing, you will also be severely disappointed. Don’t place any expectations on this book. Just read it.

All in all, Heartless is a dangerously addictive book full of romance, adventure, and madness. It’s sure to shatter your heart into a million pieces and make your stomach growl, but when you turn to the final page, it will have enchanted you completely.
Rating: 3 stars 
4 thoughts on “Heartless (Will Rip Your Heart Out, Literally)

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Oh oh I totally know how you feel! JEST WAS EVERYTHING ❤ but I was still disappointed with the story overall? Like it didn't seem quite wild enough to be Wonderland honestly. 😜 And even though Jest was like a 5-star character for me, the rest was a small tumble down a hill so I gave it 3 stars as well. 🙈🙊😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

